Shop Mobile More Submit  Join Login
×




Details

Submitted on
December 4, 2008
Image Size
443 KB
Resolution
1498×1039
Link
Thumb
Embed

Stats

Views
82,230 (9 today)
Favourites
3,013 (who?)
Comments
430
Downloads
7,856
×
Miranda and the Tiger's Eye by Dianae Miranda and the Tiger's Eye by Dianae
:star: PLEASE READ !!!! :star:

This is the cover illustration for "Miranda and the Tiger's Eye" by author Sara Beacham. I had finished it a while ago but I just got the authorization to post it today.

If you have no idea of what to give your children for Christmas, this is a wonderful book ;)


:star: Book Cover, front :star:

:star: Press Release :star:

:star: Closeups :star:


This is a wonderful novel for young readers (8-12 years of age). Fans of Harry Potter, The Wizard of Oz, Alice in Wonderland, and the Spiderwick Chronicles will love Miranda and The Tiger’s Eye !


As you might tell, I was given total freedom for the background (it just had to be jungle themed). Yay ! :dance:
I followed a sketch Robin Beacham provided me with for the characters poses.
I only made the illustration, not the book cover design, so please no crits about that ;)


Photoshop CS3
45 hours approximately
References provided by Robin Beacham (the author's daughter).
Some textures from CGTextures


I'll make a specific journal very soon, as soon as the book is available on Amazon.com.


By the way, critiques are welcome BUT I won't change anything since the book has already been published. So if you really want to critique my work, I'd rather like you to do so on pieces I can modify ;)

No prints will be available.
Add a Comment:
 
:icon783468734863:
783468734863 Featured By Owner Mar 23, 2013
Very nice, nice picture
Reply
:iconchotabear:
chotabear Featured By Owner Sep 23, 2012
Beautiful !!!
Reply
:iconthecomicartist:
TheComicArtist Featured By Owner Sep 19, 2012   Digital Artist
great one..like the gal on the side...
Reply
:iconcanpassion:
canpassion Featured By Owner Sep 5, 2012
:clap: Enchanting... :love: :heart: :)
Reply
:icondoorstop1227:
DoorStop1227 Featured By Owner Sep 3, 2012
BEAUTIFUL!
Reply
:iconangel0507:
Angel0507 Featured By Owner Aug 22, 2012
I love it. Nice job.
Reply
:icontigerotter7:
TigerOtter7 Featured By Owner Mar 24, 2012  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
wwoooowww!
Reply
:iconmg1342mg:
mg1342mg Featured By Owner Sep 4, 2011
I love the little hat on the bird. Magnifique!
Reply
:iconsedotoshiro:
SedoToshiro Featured By Owner Jun 1, 2011
master piece!! seriously this is amazing! XD love the textures =3
Reply
:iconsanguinemidnight:
SanguineMidnight Featured By Owner Apr 14, 2011
Hi, just wondering, do you know ~MizzArcee19? She's uploaded this here [link] and claims to know you.
Reply
:icontheevollutions:
TheEvOlLuTiOnS Featured By Owner Mar 12, 2011
Wonderful!
Reply
:iconchotabear:
chotabear Featured By Owner Mar 5, 2011
This is so beautiful !!! And what a gorgeous tiger !!!
Reply
:iconfission1:
fission1 Featured By Owner Jan 29, 2011  Professional Digital Artist
Congratulations! You got an FF! :iconveryexcitedplz:

I Fission Featured this piece in my Journal
Reply
:iconinessa92007:
Inessa92007 Featured By Owner Jan 21, 2011
this is crazyyyyyy !!!!!
Reply
:iconanatsuki:
Anatsuki Featured By Owner Nov 12, 2010  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
:O mais je savais pas que tu parlais français x) c'est super pour moi xD j'adore ton travail et ton style, la colo est sublime sans oublier le tigre qui trop mignon x) bref j'adore!
Reply
:iconkargaroc586:
kargaroc586 Featured By Owner Nov 11, 2010
I love Secretary birds!
is he a big secretary bird?
Reply
:iconkatieunicorn:
KatieUnicorn Featured By Owner Nov 6, 2010
Thats very beauty...
Reply
:iconnevrawd:
Nevrawd Featured By Owner Jun 20, 2010  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
Beautiful piece, luv you colour choices
Reply
:iconyoulittlemonkey:
youlittlemonkey Featured By Owner Apr 29, 2010
Amazing detail in the tropical rain forrest:wow: You blew me away-the barn owl (they are my favorite owl-I painted 3 of them in my gallery)is beautiful the tiger is majestic and the face of the girl has such beauty:clap::faint:
Reply
:iconcatgirlhawaii:
catgirlhawaii Featured By Owner Apr 19, 2010
beautiful!
Reply
:iconcatgirlhawaii:
catgirlhawaii Featured By Owner Apr 19, 2010
beautiful!
Reply
:iconxchocolate-x:
xChocolate-x Featured By Owner Apr 11, 2010  Student Digital Artist
OMG. How do you do this?
All your pieces have great backgrounds and the details are so well done.
Reply
:iconmermaidspoole:
mermaidspoole Featured By Owner Mar 28, 2010
This is Beautiful! I love the tiger very Magnificent!:iconilavplz:
Reply
:iconjulia-evs:
Julia-EVS Featured By Owner Mar 13, 2010  Hobbyist General Artist
Wow!!..es maravilloso :)
Reply
:iconkatfood25:
katfood25 Featured By Owner Jan 17, 2010
Lovely!
Reply
:icondianae:
Dianae Featured By Owner Jan 28, 2010
Aww thanks :hug:
Reply
:icontheotherstream:
theotherstream Featured By Owner Jan 14, 2010  Professional Digital Artist
wow! This is ultra impressive, I have been working at drawing vegetation and finding it hard. Do you have any tips for me!


Really really great, you have such an eye for detail! Thank you for sharing this.
Reply
:icondianae:
Dianae Featured By Owner Jan 28, 2010
Aww thanks ^^
I'll try to create a vegetation painting tut when I have some free time.
Reply
:icontheotherstream:
theotherstream Featured By Owner Jan 28, 2010  Professional Digital Artist
Great thank u :D I will keep my eyes peeled.
Reply
:iconsockstealingnome:
sockstealingnome Featured By Owner Jan 10, 2010
Ooh it's like a magical oasis devoid of pesky mosquitoes. I love the way you took your time and painted in every individual plant and simply didn't slap down some green suggestions. What kind of bird is that with the red hat?
Reply
:icondianae:
Dianae Featured By Owner Jan 28, 2010
Aww thanks ^^
This is a Secretary bird :)
The book is very nice by the way ^^
Reply
:iconsockstealingnome:
sockstealingnome Featured By Owner Jan 28, 2010
Interesting name for a bird. What language is the book in?
Reply
:icondianae:
Dianae Featured By Owner Jan 28, 2010
English ;)
Reply
:iconsockstealingnome:
sockstealingnome Featured By Owner Jan 28, 2010
Well that settles it then. I'll look into it.
Reply
:iconyvaine11511:
Yvaine11511 Featured By Owner Dec 5, 2009  Hobbyist Traditional Artist
I love how you create forests. They look so real, I can almost feel the dampness and smell the rain... Brilliant!
Reply
:iconmatthewzikry:
MatthewZikry Featured By Owner Nov 27, 2009
the only word i can describe this would be AMAZINGG
Reply
:iconsplitspirit:
splitspirit Featured By Owner Nov 17, 2009
oh wow.
Reply
:iconlupehero38:
lupehero38 Featured By Owner Nov 7, 2009
That is just simply amazing and beautiful! The background is so wonderful. <3 I love the water droplets and the butterfly. (: The little girl is cute too; I like her pose. <3 :+favlove:
Reply
:iconimsaid:
imsaid Featured By Owner Nov 5, 2009
Great Picture!!!![link]
____
Iyus M Said
"Photography is a perpective of life"
Reply
:iconprism-pink:
Prism-Pink Featured By Owner Oct 17, 2009  Hobbyist Digital Artist
The background is so beautiful! It really makes me want to get the book : D The author is lucky to have such an eye catching cover!
Reply
:iconclormb:
clormb Featured By Owner Oct 12, 2009
Magnificent doesn't even do it justice!
Reply
:iconwoshibbdou:
woshibbdou Featured By Owner Oct 12, 2009
awesome!!!!
I LOVE THE GREEN!!!!!!!!!!
AMAZING details!!!!!!!!!
Reply
:iconweavile6:
weavile6 Featured By Owner Sep 25, 2009
i love tigers this picture is perfect
Reply
:iconshadowsgrace:
shadowsgrace Featured By Owner Aug 10, 2009
I have to say, the level of detail and the use of both color and light in all of your works are beyond amazing! Jaw dropping and captivating! This one especially draws you into the scene. I would say more, but every compliment I can think of just seems like an understatement!!!
Reply
:icondezhimself:
Dezhimself Featured By Owner Jul 12, 2009  Professional Digital Artist
excellent.i love the plant works.looks ass busting,lol.nicely done!
Reply
:iconfrankyding:
Frankyding Featured By Owner Jul 8, 2009
Wait, is she holding the tiger's eye?? O_o
Just have to make sure :XD:
I could just write a book about how much I love this picture! But I don't think I'm gonna do that X3 :D
I think it's cute that the chicken thing is wearing a little hat ^w^
and the tiger's fur... I wanna hug it! :XD:
You really are talented. All these details! Again!! You're awesome ^__^
Reply
:iconkoolstr:
Koolstr Featured By Owner Jun 21, 2009  Hobbyist General Artist
What a stunning piece. Gorgeous! Great job!
Reply
:iconsarnika:
Sarnika Featured By Owner Jun 12, 2009
haha! Je suis tombée par hasard sur cette deviation (mon inbox est juste trop plein, j'ai pas eu le temps de passer à travers toutes les deviations =P) et je trouvais que cette oeuvre était vraiment incroyable et qu'elle me rappelais ton style...
Ca ma fait rire quand j'ai vu que c'était bel et bien toi qui l'avais faite =P
M'enfin, c'est vraiment bien fait, je suis toujorus surprise par la magie que dégage tes oeuvres :)
Et hmm je crois qu'ils auraient aussi dû te demander de faire le design du dessus du livre =P
Je garderai l'oeil ouvert, si je vois le livre, je l'achetterai ^^
Bonne journée!
Reply
:iconpacuj:
Pacuj Featured By Owner Jun 11, 2009
Oh my God.. This is very beautiful!
Reply
:iconinnocencedied2nite:
innocencedied2nite Featured By Owner Jun 8, 2009  Student Writer
Simply stunning, you could really lose yourself in this picture. I will have to pick up the book, I think my kids would love it. Gorgeous work!
Reply
Add a Comment: